1136 Main Street Billy Mosienko Lanes

by bevplett

 

mosienko01_sm

I like seeing Billy Mosienko’s cheerful grin on the side of the bowling alley when I drive north on Main Street. Grinning because way back in 1952 he scored a record three goals in 21 seconds for the Chicago Blackhawks. And when his lustrous hockey career ended, got into the bowling business. I tend to take this kind of history for granted because I see it every day, but recently find myself thrilling at the colour it adds to my street.

Mosienko was a small player, well-liked by his teammates, and won the Lady Byng one year for gentlemanly conduct. I like that too. Feel kind of proud, as if I have some part in it.

I wonder if he was good at bowling.  Inside the bowling alley there’s a larger-than-life mural where he takes a mighty slapshot with his hockey stick and sends the pins flying. There’s a spray of ice around his feet, and he’s smiling like all getout.

mosienko03_sm

